Freddy Awards

The time is here: Freddy's nominations announced

10th Annual Freddy Awards- Nomination Special

ALLENTOWN, Pa. - After a year-long wait, FredX is here! High school theater performers learned about award nominations Thursday.

Shelley Brown of The State Theatre in Easton, and Channel 69's own Ed Hanna made the announcements on the WFMZ-TV noon newscast Thursday.

The Freddy Awards recognize the best in local high school musical theater in Lehigh, and Northampton counties in Pa., and Warren County in N.J.

The schools nominated are:

For Outstanding Overall Production of a Musical:

Emmaus, Guys and Dolls; Freedom, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Notre Dame, Little Women, Parkland, Hello, Dolly! and Southern Lehigh, CATS.

For Outstanding Overall Production by a Smaller School:

Allentown Central Catholic, Seussical; Bethlehem Catholic, The Wizard of Oz; Moravian Academy, Man of La Mancha; Northern Lehigh, Gypsy; Northwestern Lehigh, Barnum; and Saucon Valley, Aida (School Edition).

Outstanding Performances by an Actor in a Leading Role:

Allentown Central Catholic, Seussical, Matt Gurniak, Cat in the Hat; Freedom, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Danny Youngelman, Jimmy Smith; Moravian Academy, Man of La Mancha, Chris Holben, Cervantes/Quixote; Nazareth Area, Singin' In The Rain, Ryan Skerchak, Don Lockwood; Northampton, big,The Musical, Anthony Fetterhoff, Big Josh Baskin; and Notre Dame, Little Women, Thomas Kennebeck, Laurie.

Outstanding Performances by an Actress in a Leading Role:

Dieruff, Hairspray, Zinnia Santiago, Tracy Turnblad; Freedom, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Hannah Arnold, Millie Dillmount; Nazareth Area, Singin' In The Rain, Mikaela Esposito, Kathy Seldon; Northern Lehigh, Gypsy, Maggie Surdovel, Rose; Notre Dame, Little Women, Samantha Prentice, Jo March; and Parkland, Hello, Dolly! Payton Sherry, Mrs. Dolly Gallagher Levi.

Outstanding Performances by an Actor in a Supporting Role:

Bangor Area, Hello, Dolly! Justin Chesney, Cornelius Hackl; Dieruff, Hairspray, Daniel Melo, Edna; Emmaus, Guys and Dolls, Zach Petrovich, Nathan Detroit; Freedom, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Greg Adams, Mr. Trevor Graydon; Parkland, Hello, Dolly! William Marshall, Cornelius Hackl; and Warren County Technical School, Seussical, Matthew Varvar, Jojo.

Outstanding Performances by an Actress in a Supporting Role:

Easton Area, Damn Yankees, Nina Attinello, Lola; Emmaus, Guys and Dolls, Mattea Pechter, Miss Adelaide; Freedom, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Kate Dawson, Mrs. Meers; Northwestern Lehigh, Barnum, Haley Smith, Chairy Barnum; Saucon Valley, Aida (School Edition), Kayli Reily, Amneris; and Southern Lehigh, CATS, Kristen Moisey, Grizabella.

The 2012 Freddy Awards mark the 10th anniversary of the show.

The awards will culminate in a three-hour live television show to announce all the winners--a Tony Awards-type show for high school students!  The Pennsylvania Associated Press Broadcaster's Association has recognized the "2011 Freddy Awards" program with a 3rd place award. The judges call it "An entertaining and well produced local awards show! From fast paced musical numbers to long winded acceptance speeches, this show felt like an episode of the hit TV show Glee. Great job!"

The Freddys show will air live on WFMZ Channel 69 on Thursday, May 24 at 7 p.m.


#FreddyAwards On Twitter


Freddy Awards: Photo Galleries