Fourteen of the 15 candidates were interviewed individually by six of the eight commissioners on Tuesday night. They also answered written questionnaires submitted by the commissioners and had opportunities to meet individually with commissioners.

Commissioner Michael Schware, who is not on the committee but attended its meeting Wednesday, got some laughs when he said: “This is just another time when I’m happy I’m not on this committee.”

Commissioner David Jones, who also does not serve on the committee but also attended its meeting, deferred to the judgment of committee members.

But Jones indicated the possibility of “hurt feelings” should not compel the appointments committee to advance all 15 names.

In the business world, said Jones, job applications may be received from 30 qualified individuals, “but you’re not necessarily going to move all 30 through the process. You may actually only interview five of those 30 applications.”

The person appointed as the ninth county commissioner will serve through December 2015, completing the term of former Commissioner Scott Ott, who resigned last month.

The candidates are:
Angelique M. Bailey of Slatington
Nathan Brown of Emmaus
Dean N. Browning of Allentown
Norma Cusick of Salisbury
Mike D’Alessandro of Lower Macungie
Kevin W. Dellicker of Weisenberg
Lynn Donchez of Emmaus
Ron H. Eichenberg of Lower Macungie
Rob Hamill of Lower Macungie
Amanda Holt of Upper Macungie
James J. Kozuch of Salisbury
Platte B. Moring III of Lower Macungie
Daniel A. Paschke of Coopersburg
Roger C. Reis of Lower Macungie and
Rene Rodriquez of South Whitehall