New Jersey's Democratic-led Legislature has opened a new session as lawmakers investigate the Christie administration's role in closing lanes leading to the George Washington Bridge.

Vincent Prieto took the oath as the new assembly speaker during a ceremony at Trenton's War Memorial on Tuesday. The Secaucus resident replaced Sheila Oliver of Essex County.

Lou Greenwald remains Assembly majority leader and Jon Bramnick stays as Assembly Republican leader.

Steve Sweeney continues as Senate president along with Tom Kean Jr. as Senate GOP leader.

Democrats hold a 48 to 32 majority in the Assembly and 24 to 16 advantage in the Senate.