Southeastern PA

Pa. declared disaster area; Sandy victims eligible for FEMA aid

If you live in Bucks, Northampton or Monroe counties and are working through repairs from Hurricane Sandy, you may qualify for Federal Emergency Management Agency funds.

The federal government has declared a major disaster in Pennsylvania from Sandy, making aid available to affected areas across the state.

FEMA made the announcement Thursday. That makes aid available for state and local efforts to recover from the effects of Sandy between Oct. 26 and Nov. 8 of last year.

Federal funding will be available to the state, eligible local governments and some nonprofits on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities.

It applies to affected areas in Bucks, Monroe, Northampton, Bedford,Cameron, Dauphin, Forest, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata, Pike, Potter, Somerset, Sullivan, and Wyoming counties.

The storm caused record outages in Pennsylvania. At its peak, 1.2 million customers in the state were without power.

Due to our site relaunch on October 25, previous comments on existing stories are no longer available.  This change is due to the limitations of Facebook's software 

The views expressed are not those of this company or its affiliated companies. Please note by clicking on "Post" you acknowledge that you have read the TERMS OF USE  and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Your comments may be used on air. Be polite. Inappropriate posts or posts containing offsite links may be removed by the moderator.


There are 5 areas under advisories, watches or warnings.   DETAILS >>>

Allentown, PA 18102





  • %

This Week's Circulars

Top Stories

Latest from the newsroom

More from the Newsroom