Auburn coach Gus Malzahn added to his list of honors by being named the winner of the Bobby Bowden National Collegiate Coach of the Year Award on Friday.

The award is presented by the Over the Mountain Touchdown Club of Birmingham, Ala., and is determined by a vote of club members and selected members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

Auburn went from 3-9 in 2012 to 12-2 and a berth in the national championship game this season in Malzahn's first year as the Tigers' head coach.

Other finalists for the 2013 Bowden Award were David Cutcliffe of Duke, Art Briles of Baylor,

Mark Dantonio of Michigan State and Jimbo Fisher of Florida State.