69 News at Super Bowl: Two former Eagles among 2018 HOF class

Dawkins, Owens elected to hall of fame

T.O., Dawkins elected to HOF

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. - Two former Philadelphia Eagles players were among those elected to the 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame class. Safety Brian Dawkins and wide receiver Terrell Owens were elected to the hall of fame, which was announced on Saturday night.

Randy Moss, Ray Lewis, Brian Urlacher, Jerry Kramer, Robert Brazile, and Bobby Beathard are the others in this year's induction class.

Eagles chariman and CEO Jeffrey Lurie released a statement about Dawkins and Owens:

“This is tremendous news and I could not be more proud of Brian. Being inducted into the Hall of Fame is an honor he truly earned. He epitomized everything we love about the game of football. His intensity, his passion, his love of the game and his leadership were always dialed in at the highest possible level. He connected in every possible way with the city of Philadelphia and our legion of Eagles fans across the country. We cannot wait to celebrate his special night in Canton this summer.

“Terrell Owens is one of the most talented and exciting wide receivers ever to play the game and he is very deserving of this honor. We appreciate all of his contributions to the league and to one of the finest seasons in the history of our franchise.”

WFMZ's Dave Lesko reports with more.

This Week's Circulars

Sports News Direct From Area Businesses

A Service from PR Newswire