2019 Freddy Awards nominations announced


Local high school students learned Thursday whether they'll have a chance to accept a Freddy Award at the 2019 ceremony.

The nominations were announced on 69 News at Noon.

Outstanding Production Number

Bangor Area, "Voulez-Vous," Mamma Mia!

Dieruff, "Why We Tell the Story," Once on This Island

Emmaus, "One Day More," Les Miserables: School Edition

Freedom, "Anything Goes," Anything Goes

Liberty, "Be Our Guest," Disney's Beauty and the Beast

Parkland, "Show People," Curtains

Southern Lehigh, "Master of the House," Les Miserables: School Edition

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Brookel Sabella as Donna Sheridan, Bangor Area, Mamma Mia!

Madison Dowdell as Laurey Williams, Easton Area, Oklahoma!

Alexis Connolly as Reno Sweeney, Freedom, Anything Goes

Mariah Nagle as Belle, Liberty, Disney's Beauty and the Beast

Celia Doll as Mary Poppins, Northampton Area, Mary Poppins

Harper Hogan as Millie Dillmount, Notre Dame, Thoroughly Modern Millie

Olivia Behr as Carmen Bernstein, Parkland, Curtains

Alyssa Vella as Ellie Blake, Salem Christian, Freaky Friday

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Brayden Bambary as Curly McClain, Easton Area, Oklahoma!

Sebastian Mora as Jean Valjean, Emmaus, Les Miserables: School Edition

Josh Konschnik as Billy Crocker, Freedom, Anything Goes

Steven Fuquay as Lt. Frank Cioffi, Nazareth Area, Curtains

Mason McGowan as Albert Peterson, Northern Lehigh, Bye Bye Birdie

Christian Clausnitzer as Jean Valjean, Southern Lehigh, Les Miserables: School Edition

Cody Jackson as Gomez Addams, Warren Hills Regional, The Addams Family

Outstanding Overall Production by a Smaller School

Allentown Central Catholic, The Drowsy Chaperone

Bethlehem Catholic, Meet Me in St. Louis

Hackettstown, Tuck Everlasting

North Warren Regional, Mamma Mia!

Northern Lehigh, Bye Bye Birdie

Saucon Valley, Curtains

Outstanding Overall Production of a Musical

Bangor Area, Mamma Mia!

Easton Area, Oklahoma!

Emmaus, Les Miserables: School Edition

Freedom, Anything Goes

Nazareth Area, Curtains

Parkland, Curtains

The full list of nominees is available on WFMZ's Freddy Awards page.

The Freddy Awards program recognizes and honors outstanding high school musical theater from regional schools in the Lehigh, Northampton and Warren County region. Winners are announced during a three-hour live television show produced by the State Theatre Center for the Arts in Easton and broadcasted by WFMZ Channel 69.

The awards are named after J. "Fred" Osterstock, the legendary "Fred the Ghost" of the State Theatre, who managed the company that owned the theatre from 1936 until his death in 1957.

The 2019 Freddy Awards ceremony will be held Thursday, May 23 at 7 p.m. at the State Theatre Center for the Arts in Eason. Watch it live on WFMZ Channel 69 or stream it here at WFMZ.com.