Freddy Awards

2019 Freddy Awards nominations announced

Local high school students learned Thursday whether they'll have a chance to accept a Freddy Award at the 2019 ceremony.

The nominations were announced on 69 News at Noon.

Outstanding Production Number

Bangor Area, “Voulez-Vous," Mamma Mia!
Dieruff, “Why We Tell the Story," Once on This Island
Emmaus, “One Day More," Les Misérables: School Edition
Freedom, “Anything Goes," Anything Goes 
Liberty, “Be Our Guest," Disney's Beauty and the Beast
Parkland, “Show People," Curtains
Southern Lehigh, “Master of the House," Les Misérables: School Edition

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Brookel Sabella as Donna Sheridan, Bangor Area, Mamma Mia!
Madison Dowdell as Laurey Williams, Easton Area, Oklahoma!
Alexis Connolly as Reno Sweeney, Freedom, Anything Goes 
Mariah Nagle as Belle, Liberty, Disney's Beauty and the Beast
Celia Doll as Mary Poppins, Northampton Area, Mary Poppins
Harper Hogan as Millie Dillmount, Notre Dame, Thoroughly Modern Millie
Olivia Behr as Carmen Bernstein, Parkland, Curtains
Alyssa Vella as Ellie Blake, Salem Christian, Freaky Friday

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Brayden Bambary as Curly McClain, Easton Area, Oklahoma!
Sebastian Mora as Jean Valjean, Emmaus, Les Misérables: School Edition
Josh Konschnik as Billy Crocker, Freedom, Anything Goes 
Steven Fuquay as Lt. Frank Cioffi, Nazareth Area, Curtains
Mason McGowan as Albert Peterson, Northern Lehigh, Bye Bye Birdie
Christian Clausnitzer as Jean Valjean, Southern Lehigh, Les Misérables: School Edition
Cody Jackson as Gomez Addams, Warren Hills Regional, The Addams Family

Outstanding Overall Production by a Smaller School

Allentown Central Catholic, The Drowsy Chaperone
Bethlehem Catholic, Meet Me in St. Louis
Hackettstown, Tuck Everlasting
North Warren Regional, Mamma Mia!
Northern Lehigh, Bye Bye Birdie
Saucon Valley, Curtains

Outstanding Overall Production of a Musical

Bangor Area, Mamma Mia!
Easton Area, Oklahoma!
Emmaus, Les Misérables: School Edition
Freedom, Anything Goes 
Nazareth Area, Curtains
Parkland, Curtains

The full list of nominees is available on WFMZ's Freddy Awards page.

The Freddy Awards program recognizes and honors outstanding high school musical theater from regional schools in the Lehigh, Northampton and Warren County region. Winners are announced during a three-hour live television show produced by the State Theatre Center for the Arts in Easton and broadcasted by WFMZ Channel 69.

The awards are named after J. "Fred" Osterstock, the legendary "Fred the Ghost" of the State Theatre, who managed the company that owned the theatre from 1936 until his death in 1957.

The 2019 Freddy Awards ceremony will be held Thursday, May 23 at 7 p.m. at the State Theatre Center for the Arts in Eason. Watch it live on WFMZ Channel 69 or stream it here at

DISCLAIMER FOR COMMENTS: The views expressed by public comments are not those of this company or its affiliated companies. Please note by clicking on "Post" you acknowledge that you have read the TERMS OF USE  and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Your comments may be used on air. Be polite. Inappropriate posts or posts containing offsite links, images, inappropriate language, or memes may be removed by the moderator.  Job listings and similar posts are likely automated SPAM messages from Facebook and are not placed by WFMZ-TV.

#FreddyAwards On Twitter


Freddy Awards: Photo Galleries